Walthamdating com paul miller alliance dating
The site received major bomb damage during the Second World War and Elliotts closed the Bishop Waltham works (still widely known as 'Blanchards') in 1957.
The site is now the Claylands industrial estate and business park - there is still an Elliotts builders' merchant branch on the former brickworks site.
It was destroyed on the orders of Oliver Cromwell during the English Civil War. Apart from the ruins, which are open to the public, material from the Palace was used as building materials in town buildings still standing to this day.
The town retains a unique character, with a number of small local businesses (such as a butchers, bakery and fishmonger) including an off-licence which was established in 1617 (Bakers Wine Merchants).
Blanchard continued to produce various types of brick and tile at Bishops Waltham as well, which were used extensively on railway construction and other civil engineering projects in the county.
Both the Hockley Railway Viaduct and Privett railway tunnel on the Meon Valley Railway - each the longest of their type in Hampshire - used Blanchard bricks.
Helps invested the works' minimal profits and much of his own fortune in building new housing for workers (creating the district of Newtown south of the brickworks in the process) and the unsuccessful attempt to build the Bishops Waltham Railway (see below).
Economic recession finally caused the collapse of the business in 1867.
Search for walthamdating com:
The brickworks was a major employer in Bishop's Waltham.